Nnaemeka Ikegwuonu(Executive Director)

Farmer, social entrepreneur and radio presenter. He founded the smallholders foundation in 2003, in response to poor agricultural extension services in Nigeria. He holds a Master’s Degree in International Development and Cooperation from the Institute for Advanced Studies, The University of Pavia, Italy. Nnaemeka is a multi-award winning social entrepreneur who has been recognized worldwide with more than 24 local and international awards, for his innovations that improves the yield and income of small farmers. Nnaemeka is Nigeria’s most prominent young agriculturist. He is an Ashoka Fellow 2008, Laureate of the Rolex Awards for Enterprise 2010, Laureate WISE Awards 2010, Future Awards Nigeria’s Young Person of the Year, 2011, Fast Company USA 100 Most Creative in Business 2012, Laureate of the Niigata International Food Prize, Japan 2012 and 2013 Laureate of the prestigious Yara Prize for Green Revolution in Africa. He is responsible for strategic leadership at the Smallholders Foundation.


Marie Wilke(Programs Consultant)

Lawyer and international trade consultant. Marie is the program consultant of The smallholders foundation. She supports the creation of programs that improves the livelihood of rural poor small farmers.

Kalu Maduabuchi(Programs Officer 1 – Smallholder Farmers Rural Radio)

Farmer and rural sociologist. Holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Psychology. Manages our our Smallholder Farmers Rural Radio (FARM 98.0 FM), maintains broadcast programs and equipment and supervises station manager and radio presenters.

Emeka Ekeocha(Project Manager – Smallholder Farmers Rural Radio)

Holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Polymer and Textile Engineer. Manages our Smallholder Farmers Rural Radio Drama Series and supervises our projects. 

Nnenna Oti(Accountant and Office Administrator)

Accountant and office administrator. Oversees our book-keeping in line with local and international standards.

The Board of Trustees

Our Board of Trustees oversees the organization. The 5 member Board of Trustees meets twice a year to define programs and determine strategies to realize such programs. Our board regulates programs and projects of the foundation. Led by the Chair of The Board who is elected from the board membership for 2 years renewable period. The Chair is assisted by the Secretary. The Executive Director of The Smallholders Foundation makes program and financial statement presentations to the Board at every meeting.